Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Interview for University project

Hello, I'm a student at Roskilde University (RUC) in Denmark. I'm currently engaged in a project which revolves around online identity and the psychological processes  which occur when people assume different roles in MMOs. My group also deals with the complex social interaction and the growing talks about online addiction.

If you are interested in participating in a survey and possibly an interview please PM me and I will forward you an email to further facilitate communication. All information is of course 100% strictly confidential and no statements or other information will be published without prior consent.

Comments

• erikeneriken Member Posts: 96
    It's not just online gaming that is a problem, the problem can be just being online. Several of my friends who do not have normal jobs for some reason or another (own business, poker pro, etc) seem to spend most of their time infront of their computer. When for some reason they manage to go outside (ie I force them to see a movie) they really really want to get home ASAP. They seem to have problems (not serious problems) to do things that normal people have to do (clean up, cook, personal hygiene, pay bills, buy food, just do anything that does not involve sitting in front of their damn computer).

I would like to experiment with electrical shocks as a treatment. I dont think it would help, but it could be fun. For me anyway.

• Jade6Jade6 Member Posts: 429

People get addicted to what they enjoy, be it computer games, TV, sports, women, drugs, etc; one way or another, everyone is always addicted to something anyway. We just call some addictions "lifestyles", for some arbitrary reasons.