Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

wow random crashes!!! wtf???

hey, i just started playing wow, and i noticed that when i alt-tab out of the game and then in again, i see some glitches in the screen, sometimes small ones, and some times allover the screen! Like when you have a very overclocked card and it cannot take it anymore and i saws glitches onscreen! and one other, as i play the client has a fatal error and it says wow was unable to write something in memory!

my pc is brand new, only 2 days, my vga is ati x1900xtx 512mb ram, 1gb system ram, intel core 2 duo e6600 at 2.4
i shouldnt have any problems with this system!

has anyone else experienced anything like that?

Comments

• Plasuma!!!Plasuma!!! Member Posts: 1,872

I did not have any problems like that when I played, and my PC is custom built.

That might be your ATi GPU (even worse if it's a Dell), there's a reason NVidia > ATi. Other than blatant descrimination on my part, Blizzard is also a little biased on GPU driver support. You might have to wait until next patch or something to get it to work right, or just post it on the official technical support forums (they'll eventually get to you with some archaic and fruitless solution).

Check for drivers and stuff... also disable any over-clocking programs, that tends to cause shader problems which results in artifacts and tearing.

• miketirakismiketirakis Member Posts: 10
    well my pc is not dell, its custom made! i have the latest drivers, for my gpu, and its not overclocked not even 1mhz! the thing is that in every other game i try to play there is not a problem! i play guild wars also, prey, far cry, oblivion, games more graphicall advanced and i have no problems!

i cant post it on wow europe forums cause it says when i try to post something that i dont have a character selected when i log in!
    how can i create one?

• ShadoedShadoed Member UncommonPosts: 1,459