Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What was your first computer game? First MMO?

olepiolepi Member EpicPosts: 2,828
Thought it might be fun to hear about the first computer game people played.

The first computer game I played was in 1977. I was a sysadmin for a UNIX/ARPANET PDP11 machine, and we got the Fortran source to a game called "Adventure". It was basically Zork. I remember reading the source to cheat. :)

In 1980, we got a Star Trek game on the UNIX machine that had ascii type graphics. You could shoot klingons, romulans, and tow in nubian freighters. It was done in real time, with moving graphics and effects, still in characters.

My first MMO was DAOC, back in 2001. Still the most PvP fun I ever had.

------------
2024: 47 years on the Net.

[Deleted User]francis_baudScotMendellaserit

Comments

• mgilbrtsnmgilbrtsn Member EpicPosts: 3,430
    My first true mmo was shadowbane I think.  Had so much fun.
    francis_baud

I self identify as a monkey.

• WhiteLanternWhiteLantern Member RarePosts: 3,309
    PC? King's Quest 4. A friend up the street had a computer and we played this and Leisure Suit Larry. (We were dirty little kids)
    Groqstrongdragonlee66

I want a mmorpg where people have gone through misery, have gone through school stuff and actually have had sex even. -sagil

• SovrathSovrath Member LegendaryPosts: 32,003
    I suppose my first computer game was pong.

First game that actually got me into playing games was Myst. Up until that point, and besides my old atari in High School, I just enjoyed watching a friend play warcraft and doom.

First mmorpg was Lineage 2.

"Technically it was Shadowbane for 15 minutes but I couldn't get a hang of the controls so that was that.
    francis_baud
    Like Skyrim? Need more content? Try my Skyrim mod "Godfred's Tomb." 

Godfred's Tomb Trailer: https://youtu.be/-nsXGddj_4w