Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

So I started playing my favorite childhood game again, Phantasy Star 2

vtravivtravi Member UncommonPosts: 398
With all this talk of PSO2 coming West, I was struck with nostaglia so I figured I wanted to try to play my most beloved childhood game again. This game consumed me and my friends for a solid year in 1990. It was the first JRPG I ever played and has led to my obsession with JRPGs for the rest of my life. 

I wanted to get the game on Switch but you had to purchase the Genesis game bundle for $30 (which seemed crazy expensive) so I got the game for $1 on Steam. I figured I would play for an hour and be tortured by the random battle and endless grinding needed. After an hour I was hooked and decided to splurge for the Genesis bundle so I can play Phantasy Star 2,3 and 4, plus I was a huge Genesis nerd so it is fun to replay some of these classics (Altered Beast did not age well, Sonic on the other hand is still super fun to play)

So as for PS2, the story is super simple and the writting isn't great but the constant need to keep improving your characters just keeps driving me to play. I really enjoy the grinding (Thanks to the Switch FF funtion makes the battles super fast and less painful). Good lord the dungeons are difficult to navigate. I get lost so easily, there are no maps of any kind, no way to even tell what floor you are on. It is a total maze. I died a ton in the first dungeon but once I grinded enough to get through the first dungeon I haven't had too much of a problem because I spend so much time being lost in the dungeons that I am grinding without even knowing it. The oringinal game came with a 110 page hint book so I don't feel too bad when I have to look up the way to go (which I have had to do in all but one dungeon).