Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

ESO is NOT a WoW Clone

klash2defklash2def Member EpicPosts: 1,949
edited December 2019 in The Pub at MMORPG.COM
Before I start, don't take this as an attack on WoW, I am only speaking to my experience. It's my opinion, you may disagree. 

I started WoW in 2005. It was fun back then and I enjoyed my time in it. I stopped playing WoW fulltime in 2011. I started playing ESO in beta around 2013. I'm still playing it, although I admit not as much as I did before, just do to life. I have 1200CP in ESO. My WoW character is around 380iLVL.  I returned to try WoW again for 3 expansions, WoD, Legion, and BFA. All 3 left a bad taste in my mouth, like "Why did I return to this, nothing has changed"  I am no longer playing WoW. I don't care about playing Classic. 

I'm sick of people calling ESO a WoW clone, its the furthest thing from it.  I've spent a lot of time playing both of these games. Let's do a comparison, I'm not going to go deep into this, I only need the surface level to make my point.

Storytelling:

WoW: I think WoWs' story is the most inconsistent in MMORPG history. So many plotholes and it almost feels as if they winged the whole thing. They had some interesting parts to their story but it always falls flat ultimately or they have to retcon certain things just to make others make sense. It's confusing. Questing? Well, it is still read a text and go type of quests, it starts to feel like there is a task that needs to be done and not a story that I'm a part of. WoW has a lot of busywork type of quests, kill 10 pigs all the way to endgame. You do get occasional cool quests here and there, like world quests and stuff but most of the quests here are pretty bland. It just feels like they have run out of stories to tell. They keep rehashing the same stories. The Cinematics are amazing, I'll give them that. Props to Blur.