Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Suggestions for a laptop! Good battery, longevity and side-gaming.

ManasuManasu Member UncommonPosts: 212
Hey everyone! So as a college student I've decided a need a laptop for my studies/productivity, but I'd also like to be able to side-game if possible. I know laptops are not meant for heavy gaming, so I'm looking for opinions. I'm gonna use this form:

Total budget and country of purchase: My budget is 1000€ (~1.100$). I can possibly get to 1500€, but it will have to make a bid difference and be a total VFM. I'm from EU, Greece specifically. (Which means I cannot order from Wallmart and Bestbuy afaik, from a few sellers of Amazon too, while NewEgg will likely have a high VAT-Shipping price).

Do you prefer a 2 in 1 form factor, good battery life or best specifications for the money? Ideally I'd like it to have a proper battery life. I'm also concerned about its "longevity", which I guess it has to do with proper cooling system, build quality and sturdiness.

How important is weight and thinness to you? Not that important.

Do you have a preferred screen size? Yes, 15.6".

Are you doing any CAD/video editing/photo editing/gaming? List which programs/games you desire to run. I will mostly use the laptop for my college, I'm studying physics, so I don't think that there will be a program that has high requirements. I think I will mostly using programs like Wolfram, Origin etc. I'm also starting getting into programming so that would be an activity too. A good keyboard will be a big plus for me (I think one of those Eluktronics mechanical is the best regarding this?). Second most important aspect will be gaming, I'm mostly into online games (MMORPGs) and generally I don't mind setting graphics to minimum in order to get a fluid and lagless experience.