Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is Nier: Automata as hard as The Surge?

FuryVFuryV Member UncommonPosts: 515
edited November 2019 in General Gaming
I've never played any of the Souls games as they didn't really appeal to me, even though I've heard a lot about them over the years. I bought 'The Surge' several weeks ago, and as hard as I tried to enjoy it I was just unable to, due to the constant dying and having to restart the level with all enemies having respawned etc.

I like the look of Nier: Automata, but that's where the problem lies... I like the "look" of it. I don't know how hard it'll be, whether it'll cause constant frustration (and eventually boredom) due to the difficulty, etc. The Surge was another gam,e that I liked the look of after watching Youtube videos, but stupidly I didn't realise how hard it was until I started playing.

Am I gonna be dying over and over again in Nier, or is it not really difficult like a Souls type game? I don't mind difficult games, but not to the point where the whole appeal is based on how hard the game is and how you're able to challenge yourself in order to complete the ridiculous difficulty.  Am I going to be able to take some hits before dying, or will EVERY mistake be punished as was the case when I played The Surge?

Comments

• davchadavcha Member UncommonPosts: 130
    There difficulty levels in nier automata. You can play it in potato mode and roflstomp the game. Or you can play it on the hardest difficulty and then cry like dark soul never made you cry
  • rpmcmurphyrpmcmurphy Member EpicPosts: 3,502
    I played Nier on normal settings and didn't find it too bad at all, if anything it got a bit easy and I would have benefited from upping to hard.

It can be a little difficult right at the beginning so easy/normal is recommended.
  • lahnmirlahnmir Member LegendaryPosts: 5,041