Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Complete Newb Questions

dreamer05dreamer05 Member UncommonPosts: 679
I gave this game a try way back when it first launched, and not much of a try at that.  My boyfriend just recently started playing it however, and we were looking at playing together.  How does that work in this game? I know it's very story based, but what if I want to play a Sith and he wants to play a Jedi, can we still play together?  If not, do different classes have different stories? For example, if he wants to play Jedi Knight and I want to play Consular, do we have the same story? Or do we have different stories but can group together and help each other's story along?  Thanks!

"God, please help us sinful children of Ivalice.."

Comments

• BaitnessBaitness Member UncommonPosts: 675
    Can't answer most of your questions, I have always soloed in this game as it is super solo focused.  But I am pretty darn sure you won't be able to play together if you roll on different factions.  Make sure you are either both republic or both empire.  Each class has their own story quest, but there is also a main story quest line on each planet (there are also side quests that are usually skipped these days).  I THINK you can go into each others stories if you are grouped up (but I think you also need to not be the same class).

I know this isn't all that helpful, I just wanted to reply before you rolled on separate factions.  Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can help with the rest.
  • RexKushmanRexKushman Member RarePosts: 639
    If you choose different factions you won't be able to play together. Outside of that you can group up for almost every single other activity in the game. The different classes each have their own story line missions but you can be grouped for those as well, you just dont get to take part in the cut scene dialog.