Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

/Inspect - How Far We Have Come

AmatheAmathe Member LegendaryPosts: 7,630
When I started playing mmorpgs, it was considered rude to inspect another player's gear using /inspect without asking them first. And if you did /inspect, it shouldn't be a routine thing.

Now people inspect all the time. They can even go to websites and look up every jot and tittle of your stats.

And in some games everyone gets reduced to a gear score. You are, to many people, the number of your gear score.

I personally am not pleased with this evolution. 

We seem to have lost some things that I valued, back when they existed. Privacy. Etiquette. Character and reputation over numerical quantification.

These days if you voice any objection to being inspected, people will laugh at you. So I get that's not a "thing" anymore. I just miss what we sacrificed to get here. 

EQ1, EQ2, SWG, SWTOR, GW, GW2 CoH, CoV, FFXI, WoW, CO, War,TSW and a slew of free trials and beta tests

AlBQuirkyScotMendel[Deleted User][Deleted User]Palebane

Comments

• ChildoftheShadowsChildoftheShadows Member EpicPosts: 2,193
    To me this is one of the small things that added up in old school MMOs to create a personal connection to your character. They weren't inspecting a character, they were inspecting you.
    ScotAmathe[Deleted User]
  • alkarionlogalkarionlog Member EpicPosts: 3,584
    Amathe said:
    When I started playing mmorpgs, it was considered rude to inspect another player's gear using /inspect without asking them first. And if you did /inspect, it shouldn't be a routine thing.

Now people inspect all the time. They can even go to websites and look up every jot and tittle of your stats.

And in some games everyone gets reduced to a gear score. You are, to many people, the number of your gear score.