Quantcast

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Upgrading my graphics card?

ArteriusArterius Member EpicPosts: 2,832
So I bought a pre-built desktop and want to upgrade my graphics card with my upcoming tax return. The rest of the computer is pretty good and shouldn't need to be upgraded. However the graphics card is a NVIDA 1060 3gb and it holds my computer down.

Just wondering what graphics card people on here recommend. I am not good with computers which is why I bought a pre-built computer in the first place. I know nothing about parts.

Currently playing: Outer Worlds (Xbox One X)

Currently Reading: Skaven Slayer (Gotrek and Felix Book 2)

Currently Writing: Champions of Legend Book 1 (3rd Draft)

Currently Watching: Oz (Season 4), Soprano's (Season 1)

Comments

• QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 22,088
    My advice would be, don't try to upgrade a pre-built desktop.  To turn it into a respectable gaming machine, you'll end up replacing so many things that you might as well just build a new computer and leave the old one intact.  Buying one new part to replace an old part that failed is a different matter, but that doesn't seem like it's your goal.

For that matter, given a pre-built desktop with a GTX 1060, I suspect that the video card isn't the first thing that I'd look to upgrade.  But enough of the speculation.  Post your exact system specs.  If you have to open up the case and read labels to find out what you have, then do it.  In particular, replacing the video card without knowing what power supply you have is a bad idea.
  • ArteriusArterius Member EpicPosts: 2,832

• t0nydt0nyd Member UncommonPosts: 510
    What resolution are you playing at? You're playing at 1080p then you're processor might be holding you back. If you're playing it 1440p your video card might be holding you back. What is your FPS Target? Are you going for 60 hertz or 144?
    Ozmodan