Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is Balance All That?

Comments

• ScorchienScorchien Member LegendaryPosts: 8,914
    edited February 2019
    Ungood said:
    Scorchien said:
    Ungood said:
    @Scorchien

You made a point that Imbalance is Fun.

Ok.. so in the sense of trying to see your side of this, explain to me how knowing you will lose an encounter based purely on the class you have opted to play vs the class that is facing you, is Fun.

Ive been playing MMORPGs for over 21 years now , still playing UO and have played each of the games i listed to end game and participated in all the PvP/RvR anyone could ever want ..

I cant tell you how many times ive been utterly rekt or our group or a friend etc.. in different games ..

And  we laugh our asses off  ..

Then we look at combat logs , and start to figure out what happen and what we can do to win that next encounter , and many times we/I do find a solution .. Many folks enjoy that , tweaking your build, finding ways to debuff/slience/counter an enemy/or group , changing your groups Tactics approach to certain situations..

yes it s fun ..

we have a saying with my group of friends ( that many ive been with since AC Darktide )

Die with style ..

This only applies IF there is a counter.. IF there is a way for you to have a fair fight.

Having that implies the game is balanced, where you can have a fighting chance. 

Now, I'll use an example. I was playing a Engineer in GW2, because I liked the idea of the Engineer kits and builds, it seemed kinda fun, I also liked the idea of using a rifle. But, try as I might, there was nothing I could do to stop a Thief from killing me in WvW. They would pop out of hiding and one shot me dead.