Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

A bit of a disapointment... ok, a pretty big disapontment.

13»

Comments

  • KyleranKyleran Member LegendaryPosts: 32,485
    I think Ginaz has taken this personally. 

    My wife bought a watch for her triathlon training.  Even though the type of display it used was noted on the box, you just don't know how you will like it until you try it, and after using it for one of her training blocks she decided she didn't like the display, so we took it back and got a refund.  The Garmin people or the people on the triathlon boards she visited to ask about display setting didn't get all pissy because we were "too stupid to do research"... they were all in agreement that if she didn't like it, she should return it... this is standard practice.  

    It seems every one of you pissy kids would just suck it up and begrudgingly keep something you get and don't like.  I do not... I take it back. FunCom wasn't clear about server setup.  The boards weren't clear about server setup.  Everything I read about this game eluded to it being an MMO.  I have yet to see anyone post anything dated prior to my original post which shows the games server setup... it certainly isn't on the official site.  Not until I logged in to the game did I see
    server the setup.  I then logged into one of the few open servers with people in it and asked if all servers were like this, they said yes and I logged out, contacted FunCom and asked for a refund.  They didn't reply so I contacted my bank.  It's that simple.  It's sad that you feel you have to keep something you just purchased, that you don't want and will never use.  If that's how you live your live, good on you.  Don't get mad at someone who doesn't.  Perhaps FunCom should have been a little more open with their information.

    Let's  set the record straight. In your watch example I assume she returned it within the terms of the store's return policy.

    Some clearance stores near me have a no return or store credit only policy. Penny's just let my wife return clothing she bought over a year ago (new, still with tags and receipt) 

    So mileage varies here. If you bought this on Steam (which was yet another mistake on your part if not) then you had a 2 hour free trial window with a no questions asked refund policy.

    If you bought it off Funcoms site there is a clear link to their 14 day return policy, if you did not download the game.

    But, it even states if a customer wishes a refund outside of the policy to contact Funcom for assistance.

    This you correctly did, but 4 days is no way a reasonable period for you to expect a reply, especially for a non standard return.  Could take them several weeks to get to your request, research to see how much you played, time elapsed since purchase etc and make a decision.

    Instead you did something I consider reprehensible, charging back a purchase you had no valid cause for doing so. 

    I bought ESO at launch and after a few weeks of play they made an announcement raising the level cap and adding new PVE grind.

    I thought they were going to follow DAOCs design of staying capped at 50 forever, which was a research error on my part.

    As the game had a rough launch, I felt it was not a good purchase (I had bought a $100 digital collectors edition) and I contacted Zenimax and requested a refund based on poor quality and their misrepresentation of the game's direction.

    I had only reached level 33 on one character and only played casually for a few weeks so felt a refund was warranted.  Other folks were getting refunds at this time, but I got a reply back saying after reviewing my account activity they would have to decline.

    I was a bit pissed, I sent a note back saying to please close my account, remove me from the mailing list and I would never buy one of their products again.

    They did as I wished and I have never gone back, nor will I,  stubborn about keeping my promises.

    What I did not do was a chargeback, it was unwarranted despite my feelings, they were in their rights to decline.

    At the end of the day you breeched a purchase agreement

    You are fine with it,  most of us here find you at fault. 

    Best to move along.


    NephethJean-Luc_PicardEpicJohnsonAethaerynk61977Sovrath

    "See normal people, I'm not one of them" | G-Easy & Big Sean

    "I need to finish" - Christian Wolff: The Accountant

    Just trying to live long enough to play a new, released MMORPG, playing POE at the moment.

    Fools find no pleasure in understanding, but delight in airing their own opinions. Pvbs 18:2, NIV

    Don't just play games, inhabit virtual worlds™

    "This is the most intelligent, well qualified and articulate response to a post I have ever seen on these forums. It's a shame most people here won't have the attention span to read past the second line." - Anon






  • ultimateduckultimateduck Member UncommonPosts: 151
    Kyleran said:

    Let's  set the record straight. In your watch example I assume she returned it within the terms of the store's return policy.

    Some clearance stores near me have a no return or store credit only policy. Penny's just let my wife return clothing she bought over a year ago (new, still with tags and receipt) 

    So mileage varies here. If you bought this on Steam (which was yet another mistake on your part if not) then you had a 2 hour free trial window with a no questions asked refund policy.

    If you bought it off Funcoms site there is a clear link to their 14 day return policy, if you did not download the game.

    But, it even states if a customer wishes a refund outside of the policy to contact Funcom for assistance.

    This you correctly did, but 4 days is no way a reasonable period for you to expect a reply, especially for a non standard return.  Could take them several weeks to get to your request, research to see how much you played, time elapsed since purchase etc and make a decision.

    Instead you did something I consider reprehensible, charging back a purchase you had no valid cause for doing so. 

    I bought ESO at launch and after a few weeks of play they made an announcement raising the level cap and adding new PVE grind.

    I thought they were going to follow DAOCs design of staying capped at 50 forever, which was a research error on my part.

    As the game had a rough launch, I felt it was not a good purchase (I had bought a $100 digital collectors edition) and I contacted Zenimax and requested a refund based on poor quality and their misrepresentation of the game's direction.

    I had only reached level 33 on one character and only played casually for a few weeks so felt a refund was warranted.  Other folks were getting refunds at this time, but I got a reply back saying after reviewing my account activity they would have to decline.

    I was a bit pissed, I sent a note back saying to please close my account, remove me from the mailing list and I would never buy one of their products again.

    They did as I wished and I have never gone back, nor will I,  stubborn about keeping my promises.

    What I did not do was a chargeback, it was unwarranted despite my feelings, they were in their rights to decline.

    At the end of the day you breeched a purchase agreement

    You are fine with it,  most of us here find you at fault. 

    Best to move along.


    It wouldn't have mattered if it was within the return policy or not.  A next day return (or in this specific case, a 15 minute return) is not out of scope for good customer care.  Had they said they would not take back her watch because it was taken out of the box, the result would have been the same... take it back or we will leave it sitting on your counter, walk out and stop payment and they simply wouldn't get our business anymore.

    You playing the shit out of a game over the period of a few weeks is not the same as me not playing the game at all.  I get why they didn't refund your money... you actually logged in multiple times over the course of about a month then asked for a refund because it wasn't like another game that you enjoyed (FYI, no game will stand up to what DAoC did, it's the best MMO made to date IMO).

    I did not know Steam had a return policy... so yes, bad on me.  I've never purchased anything through them before.  I am not going to let a purchase sit in my account for weeks waiting for them to get around to a reply (which they still have yet to do).  Few things piss me off more than a company that has no direct contact information that forces you to communicate via email and then takes weeks to get a reply.  My bank had no issues with the timeline.  Had they said "give them more time to reply" I would have.  At the end of the day, according to you, they would have given my money back regardless.  So why do you care if I got my money back according to my timeline rather than sit around and hope they got back to me sometime in the next few weeks and decided to return my money then?

    Again, fanbois that just want to be mad.
     
    KyleranEpicJohnsonYashaX
  • RobokappRobokapp Member RarePosts: 5,987
    Distopia said:
    Robokapp said:
    Ginaz said:
    DAS1337 said:
    Wow.

    When I looked into this game, at no point did I consider it to look anything like a MMO.  I however, have had a lot of experience with survival games, and I know that they are pretty much always small, server oriented games with smaller player caps.

    Open world does not mean MMO.  'Thousands' does not mean MMO.  The fact that you can destroy your enemies and their bases does not mean it is a MMO.  It sounds to me that you simply did not do any research on the game, and then decided to essentially make a blind purchase.  You then charge back on your CC and blame the company for being fraudulent, when in reality, it was your fault all along. 

    This is absolutely hilarious, considering the wealth of resources you have available to you.  The countless gaming review sites (including this one).. Youtube.. Twitch.. Reddit,  So on and so forth.  I'm not saying you don't have a right to get your money back if you aren't happy..  But you aren't happy because YOU made the mistake of being lazy.  It's sad that in this case, you didn't really have to face the consequences.

    You may have actually learned something.

    In addition, you give people a bad impression on this game.  Plenty of people will read your post title and assume the game is trash.  It's actually pretty good now, for the survival game.

    I have zero "survival game experience". "Open world" combined with "thousands of others" combined with "you can destroy your enemies and their bases leads" to MMO... especially considering Age of Conan was an MMO and this was likened to a sandbox version to AoC (in the research I didn't do).  Finding info about a game that isn't released isn't easy and gameplay videos don't show anything regarding server populations and setup.  I found what I could, read the info on their site, came to a conclusion based on that (which read as MMO) and purchased the game.  It was not what I was lead to believe... so I asked for my money back.  That simple.
    Again, you're the only person that didn't understand this wasn't an MMO.  If everyone else knows what's going on and you don't, guess what?  It's your fault.  The end.
    this site advertises it as an MMO when their own official site does not. I don't see how you could miss that on their official forums. Someone will get sued one day for false advertisement and then it'll get really interesting.
    Where has this site advertised it as an MMORPG? 
    game list says MMO.
    ultimateduck

    image

  • ultimateduckultimateduck Member UncommonPosts: 151
    Update - I received my email reply from Funcom. They were very gracious in their response. They were fine with my course of action and said they would have been happy giving me a refund had I not already had the money returned. Very cool response.
    Kylerank61977YashaX
  • delete5230delete5230 Member EpicPosts: 5,507
    Update - I received my email reply from Funcom. They were very gracious in their response. They were fine with my course of action and said they would have been happy giving me a refund had I not already had the money returned. Very cool response.

    Good for you OP,

    Looking at your post and all the replies, I'll give my response to all of this.  I do research on games before I buy, some more than others.  

    - At times I may be lazy on my research more than others depending on my mood, and not catch something.

    - Other times I want a game so bad because of 'first glance", I may jump the gun and miss something..... On rare occasions, it could be a substantial mistake every now and then.

    This I believe is what happened to you ! 



    Don't feel bad, it happens to all of us and I cry "  bull shit " to anyone that has been a gamer for years, it's the nature of video gamming. 

    As for posting your regrets here, the response is typical at mmorpg.com or any message site. People here and every other place seem to act like they are smarter than they are and never admit they made a mistake...... Well, your mad !!!!...... And you wanted to tell us about it.

    GOOD FOR YOU...... And thanks for the heads up, I wouldn't like small servers and will not be playing this game.  You saved me a lot of research, I'll not be playing this game.
    PsYcHoGBRYashaX
  • Nzscorpion80Nzscorpion80 Member UncommonPosts: 54
    I was kind of expecting a large, perpetual, open world.  Instead, all I see are a bunch of small servers, owned by someone, with a max of ~30 people.  There is no large, perpetual, open world.  If you are looking to get this game expecting a sandbox mmo with a large world to explore and make part of it your own, don't.

    It is possible I missed something where this was explained, but that doesn't remove my overall disappointment.  If I am wrong, please tell me where I can play the game I thought I purchased. :'(
    Well its always been a survival game along the lines of Ark with official servers an private, never has it been marketed as a Mmo the servers were always going to have caps, you probably should have done a bit of research into the game before you paid for it, stupid you.
    YashaX
  • SpellshaperSpellshaper Member UncommonPosts: 419
    Update - I received my email reply from Funcom. They were very gracious in their response. They were fine with my course of action and said they would have been happy giving me a refund had I not already had the money returned. Very cool response.

    Problem with bank refunds are that sellers are often marked as fraudulent and they also have to pay huge fee after you charge it back. So if the purchase is not scam (like in your case, it was just not enough research), you should always prefer official refund channels, even if it takes day or two.
    cjmarsh

    _____________________________
    Mundus vult decipi, ergo decipiatur.

  • Twisted77Twisted77 Member UncommonPosts: 89
    edited August 2017
    OP - not sure what all these posters are spewing.  Congrats on getting your money back.  I won't speak one way or another of the game quality (ah... nevermind, it looks bad, boring, and tedious/grindy).  I actually enjoyed Age of Conan a lot, so was hoping this was an action/survival based spin-off (true MMO player levels, not an up to 30 person map - which means empty depending on log-in times of individual players)... I'll avoid this one.
  • KyleranKyleran Member LegendaryPosts: 32,485
    Update - I received my email reply from Funcom. They were very gracious in their response. They were fine with my course of action and said they would have been happy giving me a refund had I not already had the money returned. Very cool response.
    Yeah,  I'm going to say it, in all caps no less, I TOLD YOU SO!

    But thanks for the update.

    One point of order, I'm no Exiles / Funcom fanboi, but I do believe in doing what is right.

    (Yes, of course as I define it, how else would I do so?)

    "See normal people, I'm not one of them" | G-Easy & Big Sean

    "I need to finish" - Christian Wolff: The Accountant

    Just trying to live long enough to play a new, released MMORPG, playing POE at the moment.

    Fools find no pleasure in understanding, but delight in airing their own opinions. Pvbs 18:2, NIV

    Don't just play games, inhabit virtual worlds™

    "This is the most intelligent, well qualified and articulate response to a post I have ever seen on these forums. It's a shame most people here won't have the attention span to read past the second line." - Anon






  • yucklawyersyucklawyers Member UncommonPosts: 217
    edited February 2018
    A 30-50 player game advertised as "thousands".

    Feck, that's a chargeback right there, forget any MMO stuff.


    P.S. Opps, sorry for necro, was looking for new game to play :). Won't be this one :).
  • ConstantineMerusConstantineMerus Member EpicPosts: 2,589
    Pemmin said:
    At least it has/had a slider for penis size...
    why would that need a slider....everyone going to set it to max anyway
    Not everyone. Refer to my post history to learn why! 

    ;)
    Constantine, The Console Poster

    • "One of the most difficult tasks men can perform, however much others may despise it, is the invention of good games and it cannot be done by men out of touch with their instinctive selves." - Carl Jung
    • Song of the Week: Salvation by The Prophecy from Salvation (2013)
    • Currently Playing: Devil May Cry (HD Collection)
    • Favorite Drink: Bruichladdich Black Art 5th 1992
    • Gaming Timeline: Arcade, Commodore 64, Amiga 500, SEGA, IBM, PS, PC, PS2, More PCs, PS3, Giant PC, PS4, No More PCs, PS4 Pro.
    • Adopted @Kyleran as my virtual father - I put him in my signature since he worries about me all the time and this way he can keep track of me when I talk to strangers here!
  • cjmarshcjmarsh Member UncommonPosts: 299
    Chargebacks from someone who doesn't do refunds, at least not quickly enough for your liking, is like stealing your money back from them. It's just a dick move. If you made the mistake, live with it.
  • koboldfodderkoboldfodder Member UncommonPosts: 439
    Any game I intend to buy or download or whatever, I go on youtube and check the player reviews.  I can promise you that at the time you decided to buy the game, there were probably many reviews that would have answered every single question about the game, the core mechanics of the game, and what Funcom intends to do with the game.

    And don't say you didn't know about that, because here you are complaining about the game on this site's forums.


  • someforumguysomeforumguy Member RarePosts: 3,999
    edited March 2018
    This is the bad side of EA (well, and Funcom). Devs having all these plans when they release the game into EA, and then slowly backing out of them.

    For solo or group co op, it severely lacks content and there are so many already long lasting bugs.
    For pvp it kind of works, if you don't mind the bugs anyway. For open world pvp you don't really need much features anyway, because the other players make up most of the content.
    But yeah, Funcom is now completely focused on getting that console release up and running and this is at the cost of the elaborate features they were talking about at the start.

    Funcom as usual not delivering what they promise :(

    So I get the refunds. Because the way CE is shaping up, it is not really a Conan ip based game, except for the name. All the typical things you expect (Magic, human sacrifice, thralls that actually work, great combat) are not there. But instead just a dime a dozen survival game.
  • karmathkarmath Member UncommonPosts: 893
    All the typical things you expect (Magic, human sacrifice, thralls that actually work, great combat) are not there. But instead just a dime a dozen survival game.
    False. "Magic" Got reworked into orbs, thralls work fine and the combat just got redone.
  • AethaerynAethaeryn Member RarePosts: 2,954
    As some have said, charge-backs hurt companies.  I am surprised it went through.  Generally you have to prove that they didn't try to resolve the issues and there is usually some wait time.  

    As for leaving a product on a counter.. that doesn't work - at least not here.  It is still yours.  You bought it with some agreement.   People do not have to accept returns whether you think they should or not, doesn't change that.  If you leave the product in the store . . you didn't forcibly return it. . you left your property there.  

    Also, of you do too many charge-backs, people will start to scrutinize your record and not want to do business with you, similar to what happens to companies.

    Let me be clear, I agree 100% that you should have been able to return it.  There is very little cost to the company from you downloading and running on their servers briefly.  Most gaming companies hype and market their products in a way that, while not deceptive 100%, is targeted and often lies through omission.  

    I'm glad you got your money back but after working retail for years (prior - things may have changed), they would likely let it go because it isn't worth the hassle.  If you hadn't done a charge-back you would have just been out your property.

    Wa min God! Se æx on min heafod is!

  • ultimateduckultimateduck Member UncommonPosts: 151
    I kind of look at it like this. 

    I did not buy a game, I purchased access to their game which they can end at any time.  If I did not live up to their ToS or EULA, they can end my ability to access said game. I do not believe ending this agreement should be one sided. They did not live up to how they sold the game to me, whether it be from a lack of information or an outright lie. They asked for a certain amount of time to reply to inquiries, which I gave them and more.  When I did not hear back in accordance with their own timeline, I took another course.  I have never asked for a refund for a game in my 20+ years of gaming (obviously, since I didn't even know Steam offered them) so it isn't something I do often.  I also do not ask my bank to stop payment often, this being only the second time in the last decade, possibly longer. 

    At the end of the day, I could have done things differently and they could have done things differently.  I got my money back, they didn't seem upset... no harm, no foul.

    p.s. I did as much research as I could.  My issue was not with the game as much as it was with the way servers were set up, which was a 100% deal breaker for me. 

    Thanks for the feedback.
  • NildenNilden Member EpicPosts: 2,770
    This site lists it as a MMORPG. 

    Conan Exiles is being mislabeled along with many other multiplayer games.
    TheScavengerultimateduckYashaX

    "You CAN'T buy ships for RL money." - MaxBacon

    "classification of games into MMOs is not by rational reasoning" - nariusseldon

    Love Minecraft. And check out my Youtube channel OhCanadaGamer



  • kogutherekoguthere Member CommonPosts: 1
    Conan is more survival game, think so..
Sign In or Register to comment.