Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Lord of the Rings Online: Legendary Servers Reignite A Legendary Community - MMORPG.com

Comments

• AethaerynAethaeryn Member RarePosts: 3,149
    Torval said:
    So to get things straight..

I haven't played in forever

I am a Hardcore gamer not a writer who works on a editorial so our views probably differ because i actually play games
    So do you play games or haven't you played in forever? Which is it?

Just so you know where we actually stand. I've been playing since early 2007 and have thousands of hours in the game and have played in forever. This has probably been my most played longest running MMO. Now you don't have to make things up about me because my opinions make you unfomfortable.

The hobbit gifts are bad overall. They're bad for the game play loop. They're worse because players can throw Mithril Coins at them until they're padded. They most certainly shouldn't be part of a subscription only service on a Legendary server trying to recapture the vanilla flavor.

Mithril Coins are bad for many reasons. In this specific case they shouldn't be on the sub only server. Those things they unlock should be obtained through game unlocks or in game gold. Since players couldn't rake in mass gold with hobbit gifts early on it would take game play and cooperation to earn them.

I'd go so far as to say our veteran rewards mostly shouldn't be there either. Keep the frames, titles, and fireworks, but no extra gear goodies, mounts, or riding skills. Storage should be unlocked through game play as well. I have over 600 slots of storage right off the bat and +78% riding speed.

Those may not all be realistic, but the first two can be severely curtailed which is my suggestion for the future, if they do this again.