Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Master's Thesis Flow in Gaming and Sports

Hi there fellow Mmorpgians,

I play computer and console-games for about two decades now and I am interested in a lot of the psychology behind them since I started studying psychology at the University Kassel, Germany. Why do we play, what keeps us playing? So I decided to write my Master’s thesis about the Flow Experience in Gaming and Sports. The Flow theory is about the Experience of being challenge and being capable to handle the challenge, “The Optimal Experience”.

According to positive psychologist Mihály Csíkszentmihályi, what you experience in that moment of “flow’’, is a state of complete immersion in an activity. He describes the mental state of flow as “being completely involved in an activity, losing the sense of time and using your skills to their maximum capacity.”

The Thesis will contain a survey that will compare the experience of flow of Sportsmen and gamers.

If you like to participate in the study you can use the link below to start the first questionnaire, it takes about 10 minutes:

https://www.soscisurvey.de/Flow_Esm/?q=Flow_ESM_Gaming

After the questionnaire you get a link to download an app that will prompt you for seven days with a short survey on your gaming experience. The survey will note take you more than a minute to complete. The app is currently only available for android.

After the seven days survey period you can do the post-survey provided in the email that will take you also only about 10 minutes to complete A giveaway will be held after the survey has finished for 10 x 50€ Amazon gift cards. You can enlist in the Giveaway by talking the last questionnaire after the seven day survey.

When my work is finished I will post a link here in the forums so you can download the paper.

I would be delighted if you can consider taking part in my study

Best Regards

David Querfurth