Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Hoest review r those considering the game

atheodorejatheodorej Member Posts: 5

Stupid sticky keys... forgot to edit the title...bah really i'm not an idiot.

I've been playing for over 3 years now, so obviously i'm favorably disposed towards the game.  The one thing that i find interesting though is the strong reaction that the game incites from those that "love it" and those that "hate it".  I love it, but many of the complaints of those that hate it aren't completely crazy.  So, here's my take on the game and what it offers.

1) the game is best thought of as a hybrid rpg and strategy game.  If you think you like the idea of putting long term strategic and diplomatic plans into action slowly and with the help of your comrades in a game with a population of 100k plus other people all on one server (where diplomatic military and economic relations can get very complicated) then you'll probably lke at least much of what eve has to offer. 

2) the economy is astounding, really there is nothing else out there that even half way compares.  Everything is player controlled and the markets exhibit regional and local supply and demand pressures.  The economic aspects of the game are the core of the strategic gameplay.  It is basically capitalism gone amok which though not pleasant for living in in RL certainly makes for a great game. 

3) The PvP system is the best and most complicated i've ever seen.  The mix of different weapon systems (ranging from turrets to missiles to drones) 7 different types of electronic warfare, and ships designed around specific roles makes for a PvP system that requires tremendous ammounts of planning and is nearly impossible to master.  If you like PvP that requires lots of thought prior to and during the fighting, then you'll probably like eve.