Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Mirage: Arcane Warfare Shutting Down Due to Looming GDPR - MMORPG.com News

2»

Comments

• JeroKaneJeroKane Member EpicPosts: 6,965
    SBFord said:
    Albatroes said:
    Another one bites the dust
    Given how many people around here champion indies and small-house development, this GDPR is going to be painful for them as many won't be able to release in the EU due to the laws. 
    It's complete bullocks really. 

The GDPR wasn't announced yesterday, but known for years that it would go into effect this year.

This is just typical lazy companies waiting until the last moment and then scrambling in panic!

The same happened in 2000 and then again shortly after with the implementation of the Euro.

Fact is, companies had years to prepare for the incoming GDPR regulation.

I am an IT consultant and have been warning my customers for several years now to prepare for the GDPR and almost all of them ignored it and waited till the last moment and now they are scrambling last minute to comply. /facepalm

So I don't feel sorry one single bit!  When you wait till the last moment, then yes it's going to cost you if you suddenly have invest a lot of resources and money last minute to reach compliance.

Instead, they could have started preparing sooner and spread the resources and money needed over a longer period of time and make it more manageable.
    MadFrenchiekjempffFlyByKnight
  • AmbiorixEburoneAmbiorixEburone Member CommonPosts: 3
    They had 2 years to prepare themself
  • GolelornGolelorn Member RarePosts: 1,395
    edited May 2018