Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Day Dreaming :)

2»

Comments

• delete5230delete5230 Member EpicPosts: 7,081
    kitarad said:
    Complaining about Everquest graphics... gameplay as pointed by @postlarval is timeless. Any true connoisseur of good gameplay will not condemn a game for its graphics. 

Sorry man, but that's just not how it is.  I have been an amateur game designer for many years, and spent plenty of time thinking about gameplay, but I've been someone who enjoys nice art for even longer.  I wouldn't play chess with a fugly or gross chess set even though it's the exact same gameplay there would be with a pretty chess set.
    You sound more like a graphic designer than a game designer. I know several game developers and I can't think of one that would be passionate about graphics over gameplay. Most of the game developers I know obsess over gameplay.

Greed and need for great graphics are killing mmorpg's.  Too much time is put in both.
    And yet, you find dated graphics off putting. Many agree, which is why good graphics have become more of a focus. As for greed, they can only sell what players are willing to buy. We are just as responsible as they for the state of things.

Everyone has an opinion, 

I'm ok with medium graphics as long as developers can pump out content, balance and rich class design.  Graphics shouldn't be in the way of making a world..... then again, who am I to say ! 

Problem with supply and demand as you say...... This is off...... Players are screaming for the next mmorpg, they will buy anything, get let down and now were at a standstill because of it.  Yet another comes along (good or bad) players will buy it !  
  • ScotScot Member LegendaryPosts: 22,955
    edited April 2018
    kitarad said: