Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My days of healing are over.

delete5230delete5230 Member EpicPosts: 7,081
I recently played Rift prime, 
I would like to think of myself as a seasoned healer.  However with so many variables it could be easy or hard. 
game-to-game 
group-to-group 
low-vs-high level 
spec-to-spec  

Without going into too much detail, here is the basics: 
I created a pure healing Cleric, I studied and watched many Youtubes.  I practiced healing on open world players doing Rifts, However I noticed my healing amounts never seamed very strong, but I believe I speced the best I could. 

It came time to enter my first dungeon.  I was careful to be about medium level as to not be too weak.  I entered the dungeon finder and it randomly gave me a "very high tank" and "very low dps players".  

As with all modern games and random players from Looking-For-Dungeon.  Everyone decided to speed run as fast as they could, I had to chase everyone to apply buffs.  The Tank was so high my heals were not very effective at all, however he was able to hold his own. 

The problem came with a dps taking at random two shots and dead.  This happened almost instant, and happened twice.... Next thing I know I was kicked from the group, "not a single word was talked".  I could have petitioned the group, but I'm thinking what's the use, they were speed running.  

My self-esteem was in the toilet.... Maybe I'm not a good healer, yet more often than not I'm great at it.  I'm not sure if I'm justifying my actions with the encounter or if I suck !   Anyway, I try and keep an honorable reputation in games, but at times I feel it's unjustified.  I can't decide.   

At times I think to myself.....Just play a dps and have fun with no responsibilities.  Then I can be the guy that speed runs, or randomly AFK when ever I feel.....Then I can blame the healer !!..... or maybe I do suck.