Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

No Map!

jgn77jgn77 Member UncommonPosts: 18
One thing that would really help this game from an exploration standpoint is the lack of a detailed map. I know its very expected in games these days but not having a great map makes you really on paying attention to the world around you and landmarks and pathways. It also lends excitement to exploration as you are always wondering if you are going to be able to remember how to get back to town.

One of the best things a game like Morrowind had going for it from an exploration standpoint was the lack of a detailed quality world map. 

*Edit* I am relatively new to following this game and I noticed the map issue is already discussed at length. I am firmly in the no map camp :)
Gyva02delete5230ZenJellyGdemamiDullahanThupliAvanah

Comments

• TamanousTamanous Member RarePosts: 3,025
    The thing is that humans ALWAYS map shit ... it's sort of our thing. It also makes no sense that maps won't exist in game when the first thing players will do is to externally create online resources or even addons that could do it.

The best course of action is to have something like CU is doing where cartography exists to some degree based on active exploration but would become less accurate over time anyway related to how dynamic the world is. The impact of this is larger in a game like CU where maps locations and who controls them can vary wildly.

I certainly agree though that the more that remains hidden and changing from maps benefits the game more than openly revealing every location eventually.
    [Deleted User]dcutbi001jimmywolf

You stay sassy!

• Octagon7711Octagon7711 Member LegendaryPosts: 9,000
    edited April 2018