Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why Does SeaGate hard-drives fail after only 3 months or less than 2000 hours of Usage?

2»

Comments

• frostymugfrostymug Member RarePosts: 645
    Renoaku said:

So HGST have the lowest failure rates?

Are these even Western Digital?
    The ones showing in that chart are likely still not WD. That number is how many they had running in those particular years so they are probably a couple years old.

HGST Ultrastars are the only spin drives I am completely sold on. Refurbished at approximately 20 bucks a TB is a silly good deal as long as refurbished doesn't scare you. I have no experience with Deskstars though, which I assume BB uses since they are the non-enterprise, cheaper drives.
  • wyldmagikwyldmagik Member UncommonPosts: 516
    Had a seagate slim baracuda was it? for ages and still going, its remarkable good tbh with the access being completely quiet and smooth. Seems random to me for failure, long time ago I bought 2xWD raptors, those 10k speed ones and one failed after a year or so and the other is still going 6 years later or more.
  • rertezrertez Member UncommonPosts: 230
    edited June 2017
    Quizzical said:
    Hrimnir said:

Oh, and just for reference, here is some ACTUAL data:

https://www.backblaze.com/blog/hard-drive-reliability-stats-q1-2016/

You'll notice the model with the highest failure rate was a Western Digital, followed by a Seagate model, followed by a Toshiba model.  However, all brands had most of their drives as very very reliable, with only isolated models here and there with issues.

I'd say that HGST is the clear winner in those charts.  HGST was basically Hitachi's hard drive division, which was later bought by Western Digital.