Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Defiance In 2017

AzarealAzareal Member UncommonPosts: 163
When I started playing this game back in 2015, it was a great game, mainly due to the sheer heart pounding action during ark fall events and incursions. The basic premise being that the mobs attack in ever increasing waves which forces you to act faster and to think about what to do to survive the event and ultimately win in terms of arkforge; which is basically the real currency in the game. Forget 'Script', Defiance's word for in-game money; it's basically worthless.

The community was good, populated by more than the usual group of actually nice people who will help, who will give out free weapons and generally just want to have fun.

Loot is unfortunately tied to what seems to be the normal 'RNG' in games these days; meaning you could score highest in an event and still come out with weapons that may be worse than what you had in the noobie starting area. Or you could score lowest and come out with a 'JP' (Jack Pot named rare gun). It was, and still is, basically a lottery. You jump into an event and fight your way through the mobs, as a gaming version of buying a lottery ticket.

I left Defiance in 2016 due to real life work commitments and came back a few weeks ago for their Armistice event. A LOT has changed.

For new players, be ready to spend real life money if you want to get the good stuff in the game. Trion has apparently taken the step a lot of braver game companies have always feared to take, i.e. 'Pay To Win'. Like most of the games in the market, Defiance has an in-game store selling items for use in the game. These used to range from cosmetics to vehicles which can be used to travel around in the game world. And yes, they did have lockboxes to be bought with real cash which may contain some nice weapons and mods.