Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Trying this one last time before I give up completely on the genre.

2»

Comments

• DistopiaDistopia Member EpicPosts: 21,183
    Your main problem seems to be expecting a very specific experience. Even in the most niche of MMOs that's a stretch of an expectation to have. I'd look at the survival genre for what you're after, it's a more stripped down experience that would cater to your desires. 

For every minute you are angry , you lose 60 seconds of happiness."-Emerson

• holdenhamletholdenhamlet Member EpicPosts: 3,772
    When I gave up on MMOs because I couldn't find anything that caught my attention like things used to, I started playing MOBAs like Smite, and now, League of Legends. 
    Same.  SMITE is a really good transition game imo from MMORPG to MOBAs.

I've come to accept that I'm just not going to have an MMORPG be my "main game", but I think there's still quite a few MMORPGs that are decent to play casually.

My current gaming strat is: Overwatch mainly, then an MMORPG for some casual PVE.  Just downloaded TERA again, which I haven't played in ages, and it's held up surprisingly well.  Definitely enjoying it when I'm not playing Overwatch.

I think if MMORPG fans just adjust their playstyle, and play MMOs casually for the PVE, things will be OK until a really good MMO comes out sometime in the future.

Plus, by playing casually, you avoid the most frustrating things about current-gen MMOs, such as p2w (who cares if someone p2w's if you get owned by everybody anyway?) or the recent insane rng-enchanting systems from Korea (you'll never have a chance to blow a week's worth of grinding on a weapon upgrade that fails because you won't even be attempting it to begin with).
  • NoxeronNoxeron Member UncommonPosts: 64
    raystantz said: