Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My computer has a sort of burning smell

broken415broken415 Member UncommonPosts: 12
Hi,

Recently, I've noticed my computer emitting a burning type smell. This smell usually emitted whenever my computer started heating up and that usually happened whenever I played games (at least this is what I think). I thought the burning smell was coming from my cpu so I decided to buy a new cpu. However, since replacing the old cpu with the new one, the smell still persists. In addition to that, the smell emits without me even having to play games. Within maybe 10mins after turning on my computer (and not even playing games, just updating steam games) I can smell the burn like smell. I've read online that it may actually be my psu. I honestly don't know at this point, because I'm not good with computers. I don't have much money, so I don't want to rebuild a new computer, I just want to figure out what is causing the smell and replace that part. 

On a side note, iono if this will help, but before, whenever I played CSGO (rank games), the game would run fine. However later down the line (maybe a month or so before I started noticing the smell) whenever I played CSGO (rank games), my computer would crash. And when I turned my computer back on, it mentioned something about heating or like high temperatures. After noticing the smell, I tried dusting my computer, but the smell still persisted. If anyone has any insight on this matter, it would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• g0m0rrahg0m0rrah Member UncommonPosts: 325
    edited October 2016