Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

ESO reveals that cosmetic item "gambling boxes" are coming soon.

Comments

• postlarvalpostlarval Member EpicPosts: 2,003
    kolpo said:
    I'm not a legal expert but Isn't online gambling forbidden in several countries? Would this violate those laws?
    Well, that's a problematic area, since what games are doing isn't really falling into the traditional definition of gambling. 

In in traditional gambling you place a bet and you have a chance to "win" more than you wagered. However, there are only two states of winning and losing: win more than you wagered based on odds or losing your wager.

With RNG boxes, you don't completely lose your investment like you would with a horse race or a lottery. You always get something. Whether or not you think that something is worth what you paid for it is irrelevant. That's a personal opinion that's going to be different for each player.

Seems to me that it's just another example of entitled players expecting the best item every time they open a box. 

• VorthanionVorthanion Member RarePosts: 2,749
    Gdemami said:
    Always amazing to watch people rage against things they have no intention to buy or in any way participate in...

LoL.....public forum.......define it's purpose as you will, but it pretty much speaks for itself.

• bcbullybcbully Member EpicPosts: 11,838
    I'm certainly not a fan of the addition. I do consider it gambling. Years ago I caught flack for calling out GW2 for the same thing. I don't believe gambling should be apart of games that kids play. 

That being said, outside the obvious issues with gambling I believe the addition as is, is completely harmless.
    "We see fundamentals and we ape in"
  • WarlyxWarlyx Member EpicPosts: 3,361
    why add something to the cash shop for lest say 20$ when u can create rng box for that item that cost 7$ and drops 1 every 10 ?