Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do you get rusty fast?

dave6660dave6660 Member UncommonPosts: 2,699

Most games I can take a break for a week and not lose a step when I come back.  This game, I didn't play for about 5 days and felt like I lost a month worth of practice (mind you, I'm still a novice to begin with).  I needed to play a bunch of practice games first.  My timing and positioning were way off and just overall I felt like I was step behind everybody else.

Maybe I'm just getting old.

“There are certain queer times and occasions in this strange mixed affair we call life when a man takes this whole universe for a vast practical joke, though the wit thereof he but dimly discerns, and more than suspects that the joke is at nobody's expense but his own.”
-- Herman Melville

Comments

• AwesomeMantisAwesomeMantis Member CommonPosts: 4
    Maybe you don't vary your practice enough. Try playing other games as well, as different as possible. In each game, put yourself in mixed situations, don't be conservative.
  • AluminaraAluminara Member UncommonPosts: 21
    A weel or two ist a very good break, but 1-2month and you skill will start to vanish :]

Cradle of Magic - unique 3-in-1 mmogame - help us at kickstarter. THX!
  • IwayloIwaylo Member UncommonPosts: 174
    It's because you were never advanced player to begin with (no offense). I as person who played the game for many years and even competed have had many breaks from the game and usually when i go back to it i'm not that bad. It's game sense + muscle memory. Just like i've been World of Warcraft player for many years aswell i can still close my eyes even after being inactive for 5 years and move my fingers through the keyboard and hit the correct combination for some kind of rotation n such.
  • lufiazlufiaz Member UncommonPosts: 122