Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is abandonia.com legit?

MightyUncleanMightyUnclean Member EpicPosts: 3,531
Hey guys,

Is abandonia.com a legit website?  It has some old C64 games I would really like to play again, like Auto Duel and Legacy of the Ancients.  I don't want to catch PC herpes, though!

Thanks.

Comments

• HyperpsycrowHyperpsycrow Member RarePosts: 913
    Yes its old games that is legaly released--its green lights and good to go

• MightyUncleanMightyUnclean Member EpicPosts: 3,531
    Thanks man.  Any idea, do the game downloads come with a C64 emulator and instruction docs or anything?
  • GainsNGamesGainsNGames Member UncommonPosts: 107
    use Vitustotal, click on "URL' and type in the website address, then Scan It.  You can even upload and scan files.

https://www.virustotal.com/
    edited August 2016
    OK, thanks Gains.

I've never used a C64 emulator before.  Is there a good one?  How do you load games once you open the emulator?
  • GainsNGamesGainsNGames Member UncommonPosts: 107
    OK, thanks Gains.

I've never used a C64 emulator before.  Is there a good one?  How do you load games once you open the emulator?
    https://youtu.be/SkpEBpG_Rk8?t=521  explains how to load it, pretty simple.

Emulator: 
    http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/
  • WizardryWizardry Member LegendaryPosts: 19,332
    Legit but have had problems with a couple games before,example an old Horse racing game i liked would not work for long always crashing.MOST games before and present needed patches and unlikely any of these come with those patches.

Never forget 3 mile Island and never trust a government official or company spokesman.

• BeansnBreadBeansnBread Member EpicPosts: 7,254
    Dosbox makes almost all of them work for me at least. Sometimes there are issues with sound, but I've always found a fix thus far. It does take a bit of finagling at times.