Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Does Twitch turn gamers into beggars?

CrittRocketsCrittRockets Member UncommonPosts: 159
I've been streaming on Twitch for a couple years now, playing various games between WoW, Heroes of the storm, Starcraft and HotS. My original goal was to monetize it by getting a large amount of followers and getting donations...but after seeing this video I've had to completely rethink Twitch.

The HOGG youtuber calls out twitch streamers and how they act like beggars, constantly asking for donations, for people to follow them, etc... and I've begun to notice this now even with the larger streamers.

I feel dirty now. How does begging for money on twitch make me any different than a homeless man on the sidewalk with a torn styrofoam cup? All the gimmicks, the donation games, all make me feel pathetic.

Does Twitch turn gamers into beggars?

P.S. he was right on more than one point... I have 2 cats...

Comments

• DinsighDinsigh Member CommonPosts: 2
    I think it really depends on the stream. There are absolutely some streams which I would consider "online peddlers" - it's apparent they try and push people into donating. Then there are other streams that I follow which have rarely mentioned donations or "tips" and people still seem to donate to both types. For many, Twitch is a business and businesses exist to make money. I think as long as streamers don't guilt trip their loyal communities into donating, I don't think of this as a real issue. Just my opinion.
  • WizardryWizardry Member LegendaryPosts: 19,332
    It most certainly does but more so CHANGES the streamer.

Most every streamer starts out a nice person,then soon as they become sponsored they change big time.