Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

EVE Online has No Problem Getting New Players, but Retaining them is an Issue

Comments

• RIG4REDRIG4RED Member UncommonPosts: 58
    I started playing in 2006. Just recently I introduced a friend to the game and metaphorically dropped him into the universe: like a mouse in a cobra cage. I told him the game was complicated and to follow the tutorial.

"For science," I told him, "I can't help you. But I will obverse and record your actions. Give it a week, then we can play together."

He was disco rokh'd 2 hours into the game.

He hasn't logged back in.
  • hfztthfztt Member RarePosts: 1,401

The reasons for EVE's inability to retain players are in your face all over web, and have been repeated time and time again ad nauseum for the past decade, since the game's initial release.  Without going into detail to avoid offending its very loyal player base, it's not only a niche OWPvP audience, it's a very unforgiving and toxic one at that, to put it mildly.   I find it very hard to believe that the obvious has people in high places at EVE Headquarters scratching their heads in bewilderment.  It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out why this game can't retain players.  It's a cesspool of the worst in niche gaming, and the resultant community it breeds, all piled into one very neatly packaged game.
    Except the EVE community is one of the most helpfull, dedicated & thoughtfull communitites out there.

I have been in the first 20 corps just picked at random, when I wanted to switch corp. None of them have been toxic nor cesspool. If you have experinced that, I think you should stort looking inwards instead of lashing out.
  • RIG4REDRIG4RED Member UncommonPosts: 58
    hfztt said: