Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

SHould MMO developers do something ?

I am a game designer student and I am doing a paper for school. Can u help me?Please answer this poll for me. If you think MMORPG addiction is a real issue... Do you think that game developers should do something about it? A warning? A timer for long periods online? Tell me your thoughts.

Thanks a lot in advance. image

Kiss

Comments

• AphexAphex Member Posts: 194

Yes, the addiction is real. There are people that quit jobs (and more) for these kind of games. If you do that, the game definitely effected your rational thinking.
    The problem is that a lot of devs seem to aim for the addiction factor. The long grinding for an ingame reward system actually seems build for it. Too me, CoH/CoV is not nearly as addictive as other games because it isn't nearly as reward focussed. It actually makes the game more fun when I play it as well.

• RekindleRekindle Member UncommonPosts: 1,206

IMO games are designed with the average person in mind.  (Most) devs dont make games to ruin people's lives, they make games to entertain. 

The real question is is entertianment addictive? And to some it is, but to the majority, I'd (hope) think not.

Having said that, my kid won't be playing any MMORPG games until I can be certain he gets his own butt outta bed in the morning, and can be somewhat responsible for himself.  Ignorant parents can indeed contribute to internet gaming addiction in teens (IMO).

• kovahkovah Member UncommonPosts: 692

OMG BLAME THE DRUG DEALER OR THE DRUGS NOT THE USER!!!

Addiction is the fault of the end user, not the dev's, not the game. If you make the choice to let a game interfere with your school/work/relationships that is YOUR choice. The game didn't make that choice for you. The developers developed a game to MAKE MONEY, they didn't develope a game that FORCES anyone to play it.