Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

New Video Card

dzonesdzones Member UncommonPosts: 121
I have been using my existing video card for going on 5 years now and figured surely by now I must be falling behind the pack. I keep doing benchmark searches for my card vs newer ones and am not seeing any or much difference to make it worthwhile purchasing a new one at all. Am I missing something or is this card THAT good?
I have the Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 w 3GB and plan to start playing Black Desert Online when it launches and thought surely by now I would need something much better than what I have. Am I good with what I have or should I invest in something new?
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• KiyorisKiyoris Member RarePosts: 2,130
    Why waste money if you're happy with what you have. Who cares about benchmarks. Besides, now is a really bad time to upgrade because new GPU are around the corner.

Why upgrade though, if it's not broken don't fix it.
  • dzonesdzones Member UncommonPosts: 121
    Oh I agree if it is still a good relevant video card and will run BDO with ease then yes I will keep it but I have not tried the game yet so I don't really know for sure. It appears to be a very graphic game and figured since it has been 2 years since I asked this same question about vid cards, and 5 years since I bought this one, by now there would be something  a lot better than what I have to run the latest stuff. 
  • QuizzicalQuizzical Member LegendaryPosts: 25,348
    It's not terribly likely that you've had your video card for 5 years considering that it wasn't available to buy until 2012.