Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Confessions of a Horizons beta tester

Okay.... right off the bat I want to get some things cleared up. I have been playing online games for the past 8 years. I am probably not what you consider a 'hardcore' or 'powergamer'. I lie somewhere in the middle of casual and hardcore though.

My mmorpg history: I did not enjoy Everquest that much and only played consistently for several months. I have deep roots in MUDing(multi-user-dungeons or whatever you attribute to that acronym) playing, developing, and administers them. My very first 'Massive' graphical online game would be Ultima-Online. I REALLY love UO although I don't play it anymore I had many many good times there and it is still the best gameplay I have ever experienced. Some other MMOG"s and MMORPG's I really enjoy/ed are SWG, A Tale in the Desert, Meridian 59, World War II Online, and Second Life. Also the little time I spent playing Anarchy Online, I thoroughly enjoyed also.

Next, I was accepted into Beta about 3 months ago and played about once or twice a week for at LEAST several hours. I realize that isn't as much as most play their mmog's, heck I usually play the ones I am into more than that, BUT I did spend enough time getting the basics down and checking the game out. This is all my opinion so please don't jump on me if what I say is something you would rather not hear. Also I kept hearing throughout beta that when the game goes live there would be certain things that weren't available to beta testers, different content? I don't know about all that but I hope that's true!