Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The vacuum at the end of ESO

ArchlyteArchlyte Member RarePosts: 1,405
I hate theme parks, and yet I started playing ESO a couple months back and I feel like this game has the best approach to a park that I have seen in a long time. 

-The action combat is both fun and deep. You have to mimic tempo without having to be a high reflex meth head. You are rewarded for footwork, blocking, and smart use of pools.

-The characters can be built how you like, but they retain an identity. You can really adapt the character to different combat approaches, and the game will let you make bad combos (you aren't forced into the one true class that is numerically the best solution).

-The small interface is bolstered by a high level of interactivity with the world. I feel like the game allows me to interact directly with mundane objects, so I don't mind the small toolbar. The UI is minimal and dynamic. 

-The quests are a good blend of voice over and skippable text. They are the usual x of y and fedex for the most part, but they do have some dynamic outcomes at times. I think the combat system and interactive world help take normal questing and give it a little extra something. It may be just that I haven't played a quest based game in so long that I can stand it again. 

-oddities that are part of the ES setting like Vampire/Werewolf, NPC guilds, and mundus stone buffs are great things to have in an MMORPG.

But

I know my fun in the game must come to an end once I reach the highest level land and cross the finish line of the final quest. 
I play alts, so I will get some extra time as my collection of characters creep toward the last quest, but it will come. I will realize that my highest level guy is stuck either in the dungeons I have done dozens of times each, the high level PvE land, or in Cyrodiil. That will mean that that character is effectively dead.