Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

I need some diagnosis help

TribeofOneTribeofOne Member UncommonPosts: 1,006

Ive been having a strange new problem with my pc for the last few months. Im not very technical, so I'll try to explain as best I can.

basically its a restart problem.

when i start my pc from complete shutdown it works fine, no problems at all. However if i have to restart for any reason this is where it goes weird. Ok say I click restart or a program install etc requires a restart the pc shuts down, comes back up 3 times and on the 3 time all the lights come on the fans run it appears on but i get a message on the monitor saying its not receiving a signal.

if i force shutdown of the pc at this point make sure its off a few secs then click the power button its comes on and works fine.

only happens with restarts

any help or insight would be appreciated.

Comments

• WizardryWizardry Member LegendaryPosts: 19,332

I had a problem very similar to that on a PC about 4-5 years ago and stifled me for a long time.I finally decided to take it into a tech guy and he said my Windows files were corrupted,so that was basically all it took was a reinstall of Windows.

Another similar problem i had on one computer was one of the  plug  connections had a weak connection,so sometimes it would run properly and other times it would not.

Never forget 3 mile Island and never trust a government official or company spokesman.

• MMOVet74MMOVet74 Member UncommonPosts: 76
    It's reboot looping, Could be a loose connection on your mobo or something as simple as updating your bios. Try posting your issue on tomshardware forum, they know their stuff.
  • IselinIselin Member LegendaryPosts: 18,719

Which Windows version and what CPU? Separate GPU as well? Which?