Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

$teams new money making plan, starting with skyrim

123457»

Comments

• flizzerflizzer Member RarePosts: 2,454
    They might have backed down THIS TIME but I expect they will continue to try to make money off modders somehow in the future.  Reading their reason for backing off make me realize they are not done trying to make money from this in some future "iteration".Gamers have proved themselves guillible by paying for all those early access alpha/beta games and companies see more reason to push it even further.  We continually give them cause.
  • EricJwatsonEricJwatson Member UncommonPosts: 4

I see so many problems with paid mods.  As a lawyer I have to wonder what happens when a "paid" mod does not work.  Does Steam automatically give me a refund?  Let's be honest....most of the mods are buggy or simply do not do what they are supposed to.  When you charge for something you have liability and a responsibility to provide what is advertised.

• SpottyGekkoSpottyGekko Member EpicPosts: 6,916
    Originally posted by flizzer
    They might have backed down THIS TIME but I expect they will continue to try to make money off modders somehow in the future.  Reading their reason for backing off make me realize they are not done trying to make money from this in some future "iteration".Gamers have proved themselves guillible by paying for all those early access alpha/beta games and companies see more reason to push it even further.  We continually give them cause.

Oh, absolutely !

If gamers didn't rush to buy into "exclusive/limited early access" and staggeringly expensive "founders/starter packs", those monetization features would not have become standard practice.