Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Headset noise

majimaji Member UncommonPosts: 2,091

Hi.

I got a HyperX Cloud gaming headset, and I have constant background noise with it. It uses not the USB but that other type of jack. 

I tried both plugging it into the Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3SH mainboard (there I get constant background noise) and into the front of the case (there I have no background noise but a constant high pitched noise). Playback and recording in general work, but the background noise is just not acceptable (if it would be a 5$-headset I'd be fine with it), whereas that high-pitched sound if connected to the case is just headache-inducing.

I also have a soundcard in the computer, to which my 5.1 sound system is connected. I assume that the headset would work ok if connected to the soundcard, but I don't want to crawl under the desk to plug and unplug cables each time I switch.

I considered using an USB-adapter, since I had no problems with my old usb-headset (until it broke), but I wasn't sure if that would help.

Anyone got any advice? Thanks.

Edit: if I plug the headset into the soundcard, I have zero static at all. But, as said, that would require me crawling around under the desk each time I want to switch from headset to the regular sound system. Is it possible to have two sound-cards installed at the same time? Maybe a USB-one for the headset, and the soundblaster for the regular sound system? Or are they then in conflict?

Let's play Fallen Earth (blind, 300 episodes)

Let's play Guild Wars 2 (blind, 45 episodes)

Comments

• majimaji Member UncommonPosts: 2,091
    Thanks for the reply. I guess that the headset itself is fine, since, as I tried it now in the soundcard, there is zero static.  I assume that some Y-kabels might do the trick.

• VrikaVrika Member LegendaryPosts: 7,888