Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Transition to success

SamatmanSamatman Member UncommonPosts: 123

Hi everyone, I'm new in this sub-forum so please bear with me.  

I play EQ, and have since 1999.  I dabbled with Vanguard briefly as a beta tester but had to stop due to lack of hardware when they shifted to DX10(?).  I'm telling you this because you understand what my expectations are in a game re: game play and graphics.  Now with the persistence of EQ in doubt I started looking around and discovered Pantheon.  I watched the November update video and was impressed with the music!, graphic design, and animation for a game in pre-alpha.  I then listened to the Developer round table from January.  I was really impressed with what sounded like a lot of passion and ability.  

Then I went to the Pantheon forums and read a lot of stuff that really had me confused.  Failed kickstarter?  How were they developing this without money? Why are there posts from the community manager calling it a train wreck and stating that he'd be surprised if anything ever got made at all (the "3 strikes you're out" thread which I don't even want to link to).  That thread is also referred to here in this forum and apparently has a lot of deleted content in it regarding Laurene/Sparkle, because it made no sense to me.

So I read more and I get it.  There were issues, supporters felt betrayed, devs left, devs returned, and now they are actively developing to get to a point where they can take what they've got to potential investors.  And they're doing all this development without money.