Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Why Coldfusion?

SorcerousKhanSorcerousKhan Member UncommonPosts: 164

As a developer, I'm very curious about the reasoning behind using Coldfusion to power MMORPG.com. I see so few people use it nowadays that I can't help but be surprised.

MMORPG.com, why not use PHP, NodeJS, or even ASP.Net? 

Comments

• HowbadisbadHowbadisbad Member UncommonPosts: 453

Like many other businesses that have really old stuff (like machines that still run on COBOL and other ancient assembly languages) they probably started out with it, then never bothered to upgrade because "it just werks"

Waiting for:
    The Repopulation
    Albion Online

• AlverantAlverant Member RarePosts: 1,320

I've used cold fusion for years and back in the day (read around the year 2000) it was pretty useful. It was a clean basic language that was easy to use and did what you expected it to. If you wanted to add another page to a website you just had to add the file and not bother with recompiling an application or code behind. The variables weren't strongly typed and it wasn't case sensitive which made it better than PHP (which IIRC was case sensitive in some respects). It was great ... back then. But since then other better languages have been developed so it's not used so much any more. Sadly it is hard to convert a large website from one language to another, especially if you keep adding to the site over time. It requires a completely different shift in thinking. I'm speaking from personal experience. My employer uses coldfusion. We're slowly converting to asp.net for large projects but when someone needs something quick and easy, we go back to coldfusion.