Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Eve Blog

KienKien Member Posts: 520

I started playing Eve about a week ago because mmorpg.com gave it such a high rating.

My intention is to start a daily blog, but since we're a week or two behind, I have some catching up to do.

Initial impressions: lots of nice features. In fact, I'd go so far as to say that more love went into this game than any other I've ever played.

The Tutorial
I thought the tutorial was waaaaay too long. I was only planning to play for half an hour or so after initally logging into the game, but an hour into the tutorial I was afraid to quit, because I wasn't sure the game would save my place, and I didn't want to start over at square one (don't worry, if you quit the game will save your place).

What to do, Or the Demise of the Dread Roberts
Initially, I tried a few NPC missions and quickly got bored.

I decided to try my hand at piracy in order to spice things up.

From newbie chat I knew that attacking other players in .5(+) space was bad news, so I decided to hunt asteroid belts in .4 space in my frigate, the Dread Roberts. Two facts quickly became apparent: 1) it can be hard to find other players in .4 space and 2) the NPC pirates (or "rats", as they are called) were capable of chewing me up and spitting me out without a whole lot of effort. This last fact was of great concern for me, because it seemed reasonable that anyone mining in .4 space would be powerful enough to deal with the local rats and, by extension, with me.

I kept on anyway, and after a lot of searching I finally spotted a solo cruiser, but he jumped away as soon as he saw me coming. Coward.