Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Dead/Old MMO's as stand alone

today i started playing GW2 again and it made me think of the first GW

i enjoyed it alot for alot of hours but not alot of people play it anymore, this got me thinking

wouldn't it be cool if old or dead MMO's could/would be released as a standalone when the developer decides to kill it

what if a game like Tabula Rasa was released as a standalone version before it went down, th fans could keep on playing a game they love.

Obviously MMO's are huge and have alot of data but modern games like SHadow of Mordor are (according to the online specs) 40GB on disk, and this game is super high resolution, way higher than any MMO' especially he old ones

Maybe there are some programmers / computer techs / MMO developers among you who could say how much data an MMO would actually be and if it would be possible to create a stand alone version of it

I don't know about you people, but i would love it it this was possible, in 20 years you could play that one MMO that you loved that went offline, that would be awesome IMO

let me know what you think

Comments

• Yes, I would like to. But you should know that Guild Wars is not even close to being dead right now. I'm still keeping it on my pc and actually this game still got a very healthy population.

• nariusseldonnariusseldon Member EpicPosts: 27,775
    Personally i don't see a value in reviving old games as standalones. There are plenty of new fun (to me) games to play.
  • Digital-JoeDigital-Joe Member Posts: 3

@nepheth

i know Guild Wars isn't dead yet i just played alittle bit today (nostalgic mood) but it's not going to be online forever. just look at the example of Tabula Rasa.

@nariusseldon

my point is that  i would love to still be able to go back to the world i spent so much time in