Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Strange issue should i be concerned

helldenhellden Member UncommonPosts: 21

I put this system together around Christmas last year

Asrock 970 extreme4 mb

fx6350

Corsair 600m

8gb ram

had an Asus GTX 660 Direct CU Which died a horrible death about 2 months ago am currently using an old card I had from a previous machine a gtx550ti.

The issue I had with the card a couple of months ago is I was just sitting here playing some Borderlands 2 when my video card simply caught on fire, while this was quite a surprise and quite the scary moment  until it went out it did not seem to do any damage to anything else in the machine.

I have been running with my old card fine for a couple of months now without issue until today when I get home I hit the power switch the pc boots to the windows screen then throws an error stating there is a problem and windows needs to restart.

So it tries to restart only this time i hear a fan running but never get a display and the pc fails to boot and powers down within a few seconds. So at this point i decide to have a look inside the case to see what is what. Upon opening the case i see right away that my cpu fan is hanging at an odd angle. Upon further inspection i discover that the plastic tip where the latch on the fan connects to the cpu fan mounting  bracket base on the motherboard is melted at the very tip and i am unable to attach the cooler to the cpu.

I have since went and purchased a new cooler to replace the stock cooler that i wanted to replace anyway and all seems to be well. But i have to wonder how there was enough heat generated to melt the tip of the fan base mounting bracket its not like anything touches it other than the clip attached to the fan that snaps it into place.I also keep my pc free of dust by blowing it out rather it needs it or not every few weeks.