Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How To Build A Custom Gaming Desktop

CrystalDreamer59CrystalDreamer59 Member Posts: 32
First of all I am still learning about computer hardware and how it works, but since I am about to get into learning to program video games I want to someday build a reasonable priced, but high end gaming desktop computer. Though I probably could buy a high end gaming desktop it would probably cost more and It wouldn't be as personalized as a custom computer. A laptop will work for now but I just feel as though a desktop would eventually be much better for what I want to do. I've tried searching youtube and google for tutorials, but I am unsure which one would be good. Could someone direct me to a good tutorial. 

Comments

• kicjazkicjaz Member UncommonPosts: 15
  • CrystalDreamer59CrystalDreamer59 Member Posts: 32
    Okay this is a good start and very interesting read. 
  • AlverantAlverant Member RarePosts: 1,319

I've built my own computers for years. Here's two bits of advice:

1) Don't go for the bleeding edge stuff. The price difference between the latest and greatest and 2nd best is enough to counter any difference in hardware specs.

2) If you go to a computer parts store to buy all your parts, check into if they do any kind of installation. The place I went to for my case, motherboard, power supply, RAM, and CPU offered to put it together it for $75. They did a great job and saved me hours of time. The CPU is not something you want to mess up and since I had a full tower case with some bells and whistles (extra fans, front USB ports, front eSATA port) it was worth the money. All I had to do was install the hard drives and DVD drive.

• VrikaVrika Member LegendaryPosts: 7,882

Short tutorial:

1. If you need a good gaming computer to learn to do programming, then you're doing the learning wrong.