Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Is there a such thing as a fun mmorpg?

lilreap2k3lilreap2k3 Member UncommonPosts: 353

I have been playing mmorpgs for about 7 or 8 years now.  Everything from Nexus TK (which was awesome in its day) to WoW.  I spent 4 years off and on playing Nexus TK.  Over a year playing Ragnarok.  About 6 months playing Rose Online.  And the most recent, WoW since April.  In between these titles I have tried a month of pretty much every other mmo to date.  My main concern when looking for an mmorpg is how long it takes to actually start having fun playing.  Grinding to max level or mindlessly raiding (WoW) 24/7 is not my cup of tea.  I have 1 lvl 60 on WoW, and have been in the process of working on a 2nd 60 for the past few weeks now.  I realised a few days ago that I am not having fun playing WoW for the reasons mentioned above.  I hate being dependent on other people to progress or even have fun playing an mmorpg.  Yes I know that mmo stands for massively multi player and most people think that means grouping 24/7.  I play mmorpgs because things change unlike single player games, I don't play them to party with other people even though some times I don't mind.

As of now I am in search of an mmorpg that doesn't take months to start being fun.  Something that doesn't have a grind to max level, unless the grind is really short.  Something that has balanced pvp between long time players and new players alike.  By balanced I don't mean between classes.  Class balance is always a problem and I understand that.  One of the main problems I have with WoW is the pvp.  A newly leveled 60 has no business fighting a tier 2 epic set 60.  As it is now, I would have to raid MC/BWL for a year or longer before I could even compete with the people in the battlegrounds.  I don't want to have to wait that long before I can have fun pvping.