Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

[Column] Guild Wars 2: New Players Will Have It Rough

SBFordSBFord Former Associate EditorMember LegendaryPosts: 33,129

September is here, which means Guild Wars 2 is going to go through some big changes.  Lately PvP has been the center of attention, with new features announced, and the launch of some exciting tournaments.  However, we saw a huge shift this past week, showing more attention towards making the game more appealing to new players, but will these changes actually work?

Read more of David North's Guild Wars 2: New Players Will Have It Rough.

Imagine not being able to use waypoints. Very scary, I know.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 

Comments

• MarcelinoMarcelino Member UncommonPosts: 124

When i started playing my Elementalist i really enjoyed the game, when I got to lv 20 i kept dying in the solo story content and i couldn't work out why so i put a video on youtube for my friend to watch.

Him: "Why are you not dodging..."

Me: "Dodge?? Say whaaaaaa....???"

• saurus123saurus123 Member UncommonPosts: 678
    but the game teach you how to dodge soo you must miss that part ;p
  • obocoboc Member UncommonPosts: 189

What is this ? The 10th time they've redone the same content. 

Oh well, you still more out of this game for 30 bucks then any game on planet. 

Good work, I guess ? 

• iridescenceiridescence Member UncommonPosts: 1,552

Ugh. There is no worse way to   do tutorials than like this by locking off part of the game until you're supposedly ready for it.  It doesn't actually teach anything it's just annoying. Agree with the author here. You could easily redesign that  starter instance to teach players everything they would need for the first 10 or so levels of the game. 

I remember the new player experience in GW2 actually being the probably best I've seen in any MMO. Why would they change it like this?

• Dreamo84Dreamo84 Member UncommonPosts: 3,713