Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Researcher seeking guild members to interview

jlothianjlothian Member CommonPosts: 2

Heyyas everyone,

I’m a Pennsylvania State University Researcher (and long time WoW player) seeking World of Warcraft guild members for a research study on game features and trust.

I’m looking at how players decide to trust other guild members/other players and attempting to determine how features of the game alter those decisions. The research will involve interviewing members of guilds. So far, interviews have taken roughly an hour, with the longest being two hours. They can be conducted via Vent, Skype, or other voice-chat service as long as it can be recorded. I've also done a couple via in-game text chat as well.

Participants must be 18 years or older, be located in the US, and be/have been an active member of a guild that runs dungeons or raids. It would be useful to also have players that have played since Vanilla or BC, but this is not a requirement.

The official call for participation can be found here:
https://sites.google.com/site/trustmmorpg/

I’ll be hanging around off and on over the next few days to answer any questions that pop up.

Thanks!

-J Lothian

Comments

• ImpacthoundImpacthound Member UncommonPosts: 367

I trust players who build and cultivate a persistent online persona on the official forums(and supplemented by guild forums when applicable) and in-game through regular public channel use. That leads to sharing VoIP information, and regular voice chat leads to further trust outside the game space.

I've shared exploits/bugs/gold with players with the basic "get-to-know-you" method above, and I've shared real world currency and had my cable bill reduced with the VoIP connection(knew a guy who works for comcast and gave me a huge discount once I gave him my comcast account info for helping gear him in BC) 

• jlothianjlothian Member CommonPosts: 2