Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

So when does this game get fun?

Comments

• DeniZgDeniZg Member UncommonPosts: 697

Carbine pretty much failed at pacing of the starting zones.

Is it a deal breaker? Might be, at least for F2P crowd, since F2P games have to grab you from the get go. Sub games are designed to engage you at end-game, so you keep paying that sub. 

I agree that I would like Wildstar to have more interesting starting experience. But, if I was a designer on a tight schedule, creating a sub game, I would cut corners in a same way, since starting zone levels are short and meaningless compared to rest of the game.

• MalaboogaMalabooga Member UncommonPosts: 2,977
    Originally posted by Holophonist
    Originally posted by freakky
    Originally posted by DMKano

If you are not having fun within 20 minutes of logging in - either the game is not for you or the game designers have failed.

Ugh this mentality is so what's wrong with games right now.

Have you ever even spoken to a game designer in your life for 30 seconds?

Have you ever done any research on game design?

The fact that you have a very short amount of time to "grab" attention of a new player trying your game is REALITY.

Most games try to hook you with character creation - which most people don't even count as part of the game experience - it is - a very important part because giving players the feeling of creating a unique character creates the initial "hook" and ultimately better retention.

Do you think game designers are putting in customized character creation "for fun" - it's there to hook the player, otherwise they'd never bother with it.

Remember the clock on starting to hook a player begins as soon as player hits that Login button.