Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Return to SWTOR - a longterm facit

ElikalElikal Member UncommonPosts: 7,912

I had followed the development of SWTOR back then very closely, and being a SWG veteran, I was at first very hopeful. I had finished 4 class stories (Knight, Sage, Inquisitor and Sith Warrior) and that already had meant to stretch my patience to the max. Making all those plants so many times back then... oh my.

Anywho... waiting for the upcoming ESO release I thought I go back to SWTOR a bit. I tagged my Jedi and Sith over the first level of Makeb, which was kinda an ok planet, but... *shrug* My first impression after an afternoon playing was, that the game had NOT aged well. I recall it was one of the main explanations of Bioware to have these semi-cartoony graphics; and at least IMVPO, they have NOT aged well. The game looked in my eyes, after being away almost a year, just old and bad. Worst of all however was the horribly outdated combat system.

Rooting players to the ground in combat and littering the UI with 4+ full quickbars of skills felt SO outdated to me, even more now. Essentially ALL MMOs released since then have left this Everquest-combat behind in one way or the other, making combat more action packed and with fewer skills. Even in the days when EQ2 was new I found it mildly superfluous to have 10 different variants of fireballs, just to litter my many quickbars. But we didn't know better back then.