Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Do yourself a favor...

kruluxkrulux Member Posts: 229

Finally!  I've found a game to live up to my rose-colored memory of Asheron's Call.  Yup, you guessed it, the game is Asheron's Call.

AC was my first MMO.  I originally played full time from launch to around 2002.  I continued to play AC on and off for a few years thereafter all the while trying a other early MMO's.  Llike a lot of people, I ended up making World of Warcraft my MMO home for a few years and following that with a string of failed WoW clones and the like.

By now I'm a veteran MMO'er.  I've raided everything worth raiding and looted more than my fair share of epic drops.  Over the years I think I've tried just about every major MMO released.  All the while I've been searching for a modern MMO to give me the same satisfying feeling that AC ingrained into my MMO DNA years ago - to date no other game I've played has come close to the size, scope or depth of play that was the majesty of Asheron's Call.  

In 2009, for a few days, I tried to go back to Dereth... but did not stay.  I've always told myself that game-play was better than eye-candy, but I was still a graphics whore at heart and could not fathom playing a game that at the time was 10years old.  I also told myself that the servers were empty... and that was true to a point. 

Flash forward to 2013.  Nothing has changed.  I'm still looking for that "old school" game play with the next new graphics engine.  I've pinned my hopes on Everquest Next and truly hope the devs can capture the old magic with that game.

That said, after moping around the past few weeks and failing to find a game to hold my attention longer than the time it takes to install... I wound up on the old AC forums and noticed there were a few peeps still playing and some even beginning to stream game play on twitch.