Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Building first system, GPU, PSU, Motherboard questions....

odienmanodienman Member UncommonPosts: 61

Hello, I'm new to building my own system and had some questions I was hoping someone more experienced could help me with.  I'm putting together a budget gaming build and I'm looking into this PSU.

Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W ATX12V v2.01 SLI Ready Power Supply

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I was wondering if this PSU will be enough to run cards such as the GTX760/7870 AMD or GTX 660/650 ti boost with no issues. I know it has enough 600W power but I'm not familiar with rail and voltage stuff.  Also if you can see any issues with the parts I've chosen that would be super as well.  Partsbuilder seems to think its safe.

Also should I be concerned with installing windows 8.1 since i saw at the store that some motherboards said win 8 ready and others didn't, but I upgraded windows before and never had issues with keeping same motherboards that were older than the current windows release.....curious.

AMD FX-8320 3.5GHz 8-Core Processor ($99.99 @ Microcenter)
Motherboard: MSI 970A-G46 AM3+ ATX AMD Motherboard/Combo (Free @ Microcenter)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) ($49.99 @ New Egg)
Storage: Western Digital Scorpio Black 500GB 2.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($45.99 @ Microcenter)
Case: Diablotek EVO CPA-6170 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($34.99 @ Microcenter)

Thanks for your help.

Comments

• XthosXthos Member UncommonPosts: 2,739

I personally wouldn't buy that power supply, it is not rated 80+ bronze at least.  It could probably work, but I wouldn't skimp on the PS.

Thermaltake 550w 80+ bronze $40.00 after rebate:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153172

Rosewill 630 80+ bronze $60.00:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182200