Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sounds in Space

EhliyaEhliya Member UncommonPosts: 223

Having just seen the movie Gravity (don't worry, I won't give any spoilers) one of the things that made it seem so moving and memorable was how silent it is in space.  Granted, they made some deviations, but more or less tried to stick with realism. The reason for the silence, I take it, is the lack of atmosphere to carry sound waves (I am no scientist, but I believe that is why).

All this is just to ask - would people prefer Star Citizen to have a realistic treatment of sounds in space?

From the videos, it looks like they will stick with the tried and true "Star Wars" space fantasy approach, with zooming and zapping noises.  This is fine.  Sort of the same reason many Space game aliens races are made to be biped and humanoid in appearance - so we can relate to them.

Thoughts?

Comments

• LoktofeitLoktofeit Member RarePosts: 14,247
    Originally posted by Ehliya

Having just seen the movie Gravity (don't worry, I won't give any spoilers) one of the things that made it seem so moving and memorable was how silent it is in space.  Granted, they made some deviations, but more or less tried to stick with realism. The reason for the silence, I take it, is the lack of atmosphere to carry sound waves (I am no scientist, but I believe that is why).

All this is just to ask - would people prefer Star Citizen to have a realistic treatment of sounds in space?

From the videos, it looks like they will stick with the tried and true "Star Wars" space fantasy approach, with zooming and zapping noises.  This is fine.  Sort of the same reason many Space game aliens races are made to be biped and humanoid in appearance - so we can relate to them.

Thoughts?

Sounds help the player connect with their environment better. In EVE Online, the sounds in space are actually explained through the backstory.