Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

What Was Your First RPG (PC or Console)?

Comments

• TheLizardbonesTheLizardbones Member CommonPosts: 10,910

I realized my post and screenshots was all out of order because my memory is shot. So below is the revised post.

The first game was Adventure on the Atari 2600.
    Here are the awesome graphics:

Next, I started playing text adventure games on the TI-99 4/a. These are not RPGs, because they did not have character development, but it had some of the basic ideas. Scott Adams' games were my favorites.

I took a break from computers for awhile, but when I got back into them, I played the King's Quest games from Roberta Williams.

After that, it was Pool of Radiance on the PC (286 or 386, not sure which). I snagged the screenie from DeVoDeVo below.

Finally, for early RPGs, I played Battlemech, and was really disappointed when Battlemech: The Crescent Hawks Inception was the only RPG produced in the series.

And that is my early history not only of RPG playing, but my early history of gaming too.

I can not remember winning or losing a single debate on the internet.

• KanethKaneth Member RarePosts: 2,286

Dragon Warrior for me. Although FF II (IV) is what really hooked me into the genre.

• Stone_FountainStone_Fountain Member UncommonPosts: 233

I enjoyed the HELL out of this game! It came out just before Everquest. This game kinda got me stuck into PC gaming though EQs graphics were not as good as this game's were. 

First PC Game: Pool of Radiance July 10th, 1990. First MMO: Everquest April 23, 1999

• DeVoDeVoDeVoDeVo Member UncommonPosts: 106

It was either Pool of Radiance or Hillsfar on the NES.  Can't remember which one I played first.

The memories...

• Alber_gamerAlber_gamer Member UncommonPosts: 588
    Gauntlet, for ZX Spectrum.